service-area-header-image

Top-Notch Defense Attorney for Drug Charges in Virginia

Having a Dedicated Lawyer on Your Side Can Make all the Difference

Virginia is known for its harsh penalties when it comes to drug possession charges. In fact, you do not even have to be in physical possession of drugs in order to be criminally charged with it. Legally, you can be arrested for possession if the substance is within your control, meaning that if you can reach it or have access to it, you can be charged with possessing it. In these instances, it is crucial to have the right lawyer on your side. An experienced and dedicated attorney, such as C. Gregory Phillips, can make all the difference when it comes to court rulings, as well as your mental well-being.

Substance Schedules and Penalties for Possession in Virginia

Most drugs are categorized into separate schedules, starting from the most addictive to the least addictive. The possession of Schedule I controlled substances can result in penalties of up to ten years in prison and a $2,500 fine, as this crime is categorized as a felony in Virginia. There are six schedules altogether, along with two categories strictly for possession of marijuana. These schedules and categories include:

Schedule I Substance
Penalty: Class 5 felony charges, up to ten years in prison and a fine of $2,500.
Examples: Heroin, LSD, ecstasy, and GHB.

Schedule II Substance
Penalty: Class 5 felony charges, up to ten years in prison and a fine of $2,500.
Examples: Cocaine, methamphetamine, morphine, PCP, and methadone.

Schedule III Substance
Penalty: Class 1 misdemeanor charges, up to one year in jail and fines up to $2,500.
Examples: Ketamine, Hydrocodone, Vicodin, and Steroids.

Schedule IV Substance
Penalty: Class 2 misdemeanor charges, up to six months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
Examples: Valium, Xanax, and Rohypnol

Schedule V Substance
Penalty: Class 3 misdemeanor charges of a fine up to $500.
Examples: Cold medications that include codeine.

Schedule VI Substance
Penalty: Class 4 misdemeanor charges of fines up to $250.
Examples: Drugs that have the least risk of addiction, if any.

Marijuana – First Offense
Penalty: Misdemeanor charges, up to 30 days in jail and $500 in fines.

Marijuana – Second or Subsequent Offense
Penalty: Misdemeanor charges, up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.

Contact an Experienced Defense Lawyer Today!

In some cases, a person charged with their first possession offense may be eligible for deferred prosecution. Deferred prosecution allows for a period of probation to take the place of your former charges, whether it result in fines or jail time. This generally has to do with the amount of marijuana found in your possession at the time of the arrest. If the amount is small, and the probation is completed successfully, the misdemeanor charges may be dropped. In order to ensure your best interests in the event of an arrest involving drug possession, contact experienced defense attorney Gregory Phillips and his dedicated staff in Salem, VA, today!