Effective Legal Defense for DUIs in Southern Virginia
Ways a Driver Can Be Charged with a DUI in the State of Virginia
Regardless of the substance, whether alcohol or drug, if your ability to drive is affected because you are operating under the influence of any judgment-altering substance, you may be facing serious charges. In the state of Virginia, there are two different ways a driver can breach the law when it comes to DUIs. The first one is called, “DUI Per Se,” and indicates that your blood alcohol level is 0.08% or higher, and determined by a chemical test via your blood, breath, or urine. The second way is determined by the judgment of an officer in the event that you are suspected of driving under the influence. Generally, an officer is able to determine your state of impairment through a series of field sobriety tests, or FSTs. The legal limit when it comes to blood alcohol level in the state of Virginia are as follows:
Typical Penalties and Sentences for DUI Offenses
The first time you are convicted of a DUI, it is considered to be a Class 1 Misdemeanor, indicating that the offense will be permanently reflected on your criminal record. The fines involved with these charges range from $250 to $2,500 and can include up to a one-year license suspension. However, if your blood alcohol level was at 0.15% or higher at the time of your arrest, you may also be facing jail time, and other additional penalties. If you have been arrested for a DUI for the first time, hiring the right lawyer can make all the difference. Attorney Gregory Phillips in Salem, VA, can help you get your charges reduced – especially if it is your first DUI. Contact us today to find out more!
Ignition Interlock Device Requirements in Virginia
Regardless of the sentence, ignition interlock devices are required for any driver convicted of a DUI in the state of Virginia. An IID must be installed for anywhere from six months to anytime until released by the court, depending on the severity of the offense. Generally, the penalties are steeper for higher blood alcohol levels, and repeat offenses warrant greater punishments. These devices are designed to prevent a person from operating his or her vehicle if it is determined that he or she is above the legal blood alcohol level allowed by the state.
The Best Representation for Underage DUIs
If you are charged with a DU and wish to attempt to have your driver’s license reinstated, you have less than five days to hire a lawyer to represent you. Securing adequate representation in a timely manner is crucial, especially if you are at higher risk for harsher sentencing. In fact, underage intoxication while driving carries additional penalties to common DUI charges. If you are discovered to be operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of even 0.01% or higher and you are under the age of 21, you may be subject to the following penalties: