Know Your Rights When it Comes to Misdemeanors in Virginia
Reliable Legal Services for Misdemeanors in Southwest Virginia
Generally, misdemeanor crimes are considered less serious than felonies. While felonies can be punishable by state imprisonment or death, misdemeanors can result in up to 12 months in a local jail, or other penalties that lawmakers can establish. There are four classes of misdemeanors, with Class 1 being the most serious and Class 4 being the least serious. If lawmakers fail to designate a crime as a misdemeanor, or set forth a specific penalty, then it is automatically punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor in Southwest Virginia, contact the experienced law office of Gregory Phillips in Salem, VA. We guarantee the most reliable legal services in the area, so you can rest assured that your case will be handled efficiently from start to finish.
Misdemeanor Classes in the State of Virginia
A Class 1 misdemeanor can result in up to 12 months in jail, a fine up to $2,500, or both.
Examples of a Class 1 misdemeanor include domestic violence, carrying a gun without a permit, reckless driving, DUIs, assault and battery, and more. Class 2 misdemeanors are punishable by up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. Drug possession is a type of Class 2 misdemeanor in the state of Virginia. The least serious misdemeanors are Class 3 and Class 4, and are punishable by fines up to $250 to $500, but no jail time. These types of misdemeanors generally include public intoxication, property destruction, possession of Schedule V or VI drugs, and more. Misdemeanors may come to trial at the state or federal level, and having a trustworthy attorney like Gregory Phillips on your side is the first step to success.
Understanding the Statute of Limitations & the Best Law Services in VA
Like many states, Virginia has a statute of limitations on most crimes, which is a time period in which the state must begin criminal prosecution or the defendant can have the case dismissed. From the time that the misdemeanor is committed, the statute of limitations begins to run, and the accused is no longer able to be prosecuted after one year. With the right lawyer on your side, and understanding your rights as a citizen, you can achieve the outcome you want in, or out, of court. For more information about misdemeanors and how to acquire the best legal representation in the area, contact attorney Gregory Phillips and his dedicated staff in Salem, VA, today!